Skip to content

2016 Letter re Donations in Lieu of Holiday Cards

November 22, 2016

To My Friends, Family, Colleagues and Business Contacts:

It has become an annual custom of mine to make charitable donations at this time of year in honor of family, friends, colleagues, and business contacts.

I do this:

• in lieu of buying and mailing commercially available business and personal holiday cards;
• to extend my best wishes for the upcoming holiday season; and also
• to fulfill what I believe to be a social responsibility in any event to help repair the world (Tikkun Olam).

As I have written before, I see these donations as a way to put humanity back into the season … and also as a way to voice my own personal objection to the din of holiday television and radio commercials and the wearying retail and commercial blather we will face through the end of the year.

Current events usually dictate where I send my money. This year I have made two donations in your honor:

(1) to the “JFS { SOVA Thanksgiving Virtual Food Drive;” to fight hunger; and

(2) to the Anti-Defamation League, to fight hate.

In making these donations, as I have said previously, I wish for peace, contentment, good health and well being for each of us and for all those in distress and/or at risk in our communities and around the world.

I also wish for less hunger, more tolerance, and the compassion that supports both.

Sincerely,

DAVID I. KARP

***

David I. Karp is a full time mediator principally of real estate and business disputes in Southern California. His website is at http://karpmediation.com .

From → Stories

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

