Skip to content

The Songs of Today

August 26, 2014

I’m not referring to the music that the kids listen to these days on their iPods or whatever.

In fact I don’t know what they listen to. Or if it’s music.

(Now I’m sounding like my father. And everyone’s.)

Rather, I’m writing about the songs that came to mind this morning as I was thinking about recent mediations, including today’s, that went off calendar at the last minute.

All were due to unanticipated events beyond anyone’s control.

You know the kinds of things that happen, those that bring chaos out of order:

a sudden illness of a relative or a party,

a last minute substitution of attorney,

the surprise revelation of a bankruptcy and the automatic stay,

a weather problem in someone’s home city that precludes her arrival,

an earthquake (as in Napa) or some other natural disaster,

even a war as in the Middle East!

So what’s a mediator to do?

I don’t know what others do; today I looked to the song lyricists for guidance.

Bobby McFerrin suggests:

“Don’t worry, be happy.”

Buddy De Sylva, Jerome Kern and Jerry J Nowak offer:

“Always look for the silver lining.”

And my favorite, Eric Idle, writes:

“Always look on the bright side of life… (Whistle)”

So, today, that what I’ll do instead of mediating.

<Whistling>

(Also, hoping for the best, I’ll prepare for the next mediation coming up in a few days.)

***

David I. Karp is a full time mediator of real estate and business disputes in Southern California whose calendar, like everyone’s, occasionally falls victim to the chaos of life. His website is at http://karpmediation.com .

From → Mediation

One Comment
  1. Paul S permalink

    Excellent idea…..mandatory whistling to get everyone in a spirit of compromise….:-)

Leave a Reply

