Skip to content

Masonic Principles as a Guide in Mediation

December 3, 2013

I wear a Masonic ring every day;  I am a Mason as was my father and his father.  Even my great grandfather was a Mason.

I know that it is not for everybody, but I value my connection with the Craft.

Lately I have been thinking a lot about Masonry and its values, partly but not only because my Masonic Lodge is celebrating its 60th anniversary tomorrow night and I will be attending the celebration.

I have always held in high regard the ethics and morals of Masonry, which I will discuss below, and have tried to live by them (equally, I might add, with the Scout Law, about which I wrote  several years ago – see, http://www.mediate.com/articles/karpD1.cfm

I have tried also to conduct myself in mediation in accord with these Masonic Principles:  Brotherly Love, Relief and Truth.

The Grand Lodge of California says this about these principles:

Brotherly love. We value respect, freedom, kindness, tolerance, and our differences – religious, ethnic, cultural, social, generational, and educational – and strive for harmony in our individual lives, in our lodges, and in the global community.

Relief. We take responsibility for the well-being of our brothers, our families, and the community as a whole. We provide relief through philanthropy, community involvement, and delivery of excellent care.

Truth. We stay true to our personal code of conduct and ethics – honor, integrity, personal responsibility, and the continuous pursuit of knowledge.

See, http://www.freemason.org/discoverMasonry/index.htm

These are all good guides for me in mediation.

These principles remind me, as does my Masonic ring which I wear in mediation:

∙    to act with respect, kindness and tolerance evenly towards all participants in mediation as we strive for harmony in the management of the mediation process and in the outcome;

∙    to look out for the well-being of those attending as they attempt to manage their own conflicts, and to work with them towards relief from their distress;

∙    to conduct myself at all times with honor, integrity, personal responsibility; and

∙    to continue my learning, about mediation and about people, so as capably to help the participants reach their goals.

Such is the influence of the Craft on my craft, which guides my work as it does my life.

***

David I. Karp is a full time mediator of real estate and business disputes, primarily, and a Master Mason of Home Lodge No. 721, F. & A.M. in Van Nuys, California.  His business website is at http://karpmediation.com .  He apologizes for any ads affixed to this blog by wordpress.com; they are not his.

From → Mediation

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Civility and Its Opposites | The Blog of David I. Karp

Leave a Reply

