Skip to content

The Heart of Mediation (An Elevator Speech)

July 19, 2013

I have been practicing my elevator speech lately.

It’s because I recently joined a networking group of lawyers.

As I understand it, an elevator speech, or elevator pitch, is what one says in the time of an elevator ride to describe one’s business or profession.

It is a good idea to be able to summarize one’s occupation succinctly and in an interesting way.

So in our networking meeting, we go around the table and each person has a chance to work on and refine his or her elevator speech.

Some are serious, some pithy, some funny, some not so funny.

I just try to be genuine and sincere.

The other night, I think I achieved just the right result.

Here is what I said, more or less spontaneously, when it came to my turn:

“Hello. My name is David Karp.  I am a full time mediator of real estate and business disputes.  But what I really do is help people have a conversation, directly or indirectly, by which they can learn more about themselves, each other, and the predicament they face, so they can make informed choices about whether and how to resolve their dispute with one another.”

Or something like that.

Later, one of the attentive attorneys in the meeting said to me,  “I like your heart.”

That was precisely the message I had hoped to convey.

***

David I. Karp is a full time mediator, with heart, assisting in the resolution of real estate and business disputes.  His website is at http://karpmediation.com .

From → Mediation

Leave a Reply

