Skip to content

Letter re Donations in Lieu of Holiday Greeting Cards…

November 20, 2012

November 2012

To My Friends, Family, Colleagues and Business Contacts:

As Thanksgiving and the December celebrations of Chanukah, Christmas and Kwanzaa get underway, I recognize that we live in a time and place where there is much for which we can be thankful.  Personally, I am thankful that I have each of you in my thoughts and in my life.

I know too that there is much meaning in the religious and secular celebrations just ahead, and I wish each of you the very best of the season, whatever holiday you observe.

I am fully aware, nevertheless, that there is much heartache in the world at this time.  For this I have deeply felt sorrow and much rachmones (Yiddish, for “compassion”).

Thus, in lieu of impersonal holiday greeting cards this year, I am writing to tell you that, to help to relieve the pain and suffering so many people face today, I have chosen instead to make donations, in your honor, to the following:

∙    To the Emergency Response Campaign of the American Friends of Magen David Adom, for victims of rocket attacks in Israel; and

∙    To the Disaster Relief Fund of the American Red Cross, for victims of Superstorm Sandy.

I am fully committed to the tradition of Tikkun Olam (“Repairing the World”).  In this context, I wish for peace, contentment, good health and well being for each of us and for all those in distress in our communities and around the world.

Sincerely,

DAVID I. KARP

From → Mediation, Stories

Leave a Reply

