Skip to content

Sometimes it’s just a Jewish thing.

March 25, 2012

My wife says I see things differently from others.  I think that’s true.  I don’t know why.

But certain things make me laugh to myself, particularly when I see Jewishly into a word, phrase or product.

Sometimes, I am my best audience.  Possibly no one else sees these things as amusing.  But at least I have a good time for myself.  And it’s harmless and all in good fun.

The other day in a mediation, I was thinking about the concept of Res Judicata.  It’s a legal concept meaning “the thing has been decided” and refers to not litigating the same issue between the same disputants more than once.

As I was ruminating, I thought of it as Res Judaica, meaning, I guess, “the thing is Jewish” or “it’s a Jewish thing.”

Of course, in our Jewish tradition, sometimes “the thing is never decided.”  And that’s what made me laugh to myself.

We just like a good debate, I guess.

Then there was the product on TV called Aveeno.  It’s for skin care.

But again, I made myself laugh because I referred to is as “Aveeno Malkeinu” which is close to the name of an important prayer recited during our High Holy Days from Rosh Hashanah through Yom Kippur.

So I guess we can repent and have good skin too.

But my favorite, “Jewish thing” has to do with a fine Catholic high school down the street from us which we always pass going home.

The school has a billboard visible from the street with its school spirit motto on it: “Go Knights.”

But I see it as “Go Knishes” and I giggle every time I think of a  parochial school with a football team named after a Jewish stuffed pastry.

What can I say?  It’s a Jewish thing.

Try it.  Enjoy it.  It’s harmless.  And you might laugh at/with/to yourself too.

From → Bubbe Meises, Stories

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

