Skip to content

H.O.P.E for the New Year

January 1, 2012

It’s New Year’s Day and a good day to express H.O.P.E. for the new year.

H is for happiness. I think happiness is a function of perspective and perspective is sometimes a function of age. As I have grown older, I have been happiest seeing my children thrive as the fine young adults they have become.  I have delighted in returning home daily to the warm connubial embrace of the love of my life.  I bring personal happiness to my work as mediator and it affects others in a positive way.  I look forward to more of this in 2012.

O is for optimism.  I am optimistic about the future, particularly the economic future of our country.  We must all be optimistic in 2012 (and patient) as jobs increase, money flows, and people flourish.  With less strife there can be more productivity.  With more productivity, there will be more prosperity.  With greater prosperity, there can be peace.  I look forward to more of this in 2012.

P is for peace.  I am thrilled at the end of a detestable war in 2011 and the life saving for the young people there that resulted.  But that is not the only peace of which I write; I also write of personal peace.  Personal peace comes at the end of, or at least the management of, personal strife.  As a mediator, I hope for a certain tranquility and calm that people will experience when they have resolved their differences.  I have found such tranquility and have brought it to the mediation table and I have seen the shelter of peace being built by those I have seen in distress.  I look forward to more of this in 2012.

E is for enthusiasm.  I greet 2012 with enthusiasm for all the good that can come our way and all the good that we, as individuals and as a community, can do.  I embrace the challenges ahead personally and professionally.  I look forward to all that 2012 has to offer, to the betterment of individuals affected by positive thoughts and views.  2012 can be a good year for all of us if we want it to be, if we allow it to be, if we keep things in perspective, if we manage our problems and find satisfaction in what we do, who we are, and how we relate to others.  I look forward to more of this in 2012.

This is my H.O.P.E. for 2012.  Happy New Year to us all.

One Comment
  1. Jeremy permalink

    Happy New Year, David!

Leave a Reply

