Skip to content

City traffic is no fun.

November 9, 2011

I don’t like city traffic much.  I drive when I must, but I like public transportation best.  My mediation practice is flexible enough to make this commitment.

I like public transportation when one can get there with it.  In Los Angeles, that is not always possible.

Yesterday I drove because it would have been just too much to take public transit – too much time and aggravation.  Yet it was still too much time and aggravation driving.

In Los Angeles, it takes an hour or more to drive anywhere.  Yesterday’s trip was only 11 1/4 miles each way.  It was still an hour to get there and an hour to get back.

Of course the choking traffic is not entirely the fault of the drivers.  There is a lot of blame to spread over the geography and poor city planning.

But so many drivers are annoying nevertheless.  I think it’s their selfishness/chutzpah.

I hate it when the first car in the left turn lane doesn’t pull into the intersection enough to allow the second car to go before the light turns.  I was taught to go to the middle of the intersection and wait.  People barely drive forward at all.  I don’t understand what is wrong with them.

Then there are the impatient ones.  They are in the second or third car in the left turn lane.  Yesterday, I saw the third one start his turn after the light was already red.  He went through anyway.

Then there are the ones whose fancy cars came without turn signals.  They should really invest in that option.  It would help the other drivers like me to know where they’re going.

What about our law that requires hands-free cell phone use?  It doesn’t seem that anyone cares to follow the rules of the road.

I think some people are stuck in that egocentric selfish place that just won’t let them be considerate of other drivers.  There should be a law against that.

So I drive when I must and I grit my teeth the whole way.  I will probably get TMJ from it.

From → Bubbe Meises, Stories

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

