Skip to content

The Pause that Refreshes

August 1, 2011

The 1929 Coca Cola advertising slogan, “the pause that refreshes” comes to mind as I get ready for a summer break from mediation, to visit and share a celebration with family and to “get away from it all” for a short while.

Summer seems like the best time to pause from work – everyone else is on vacation it seems – but any time one that can separate oneself from the demands and conflicts of daily life is a good time to pause.

Sometimes a pause in a mediation session makes sense too.  There is plenty of pressure on people in mediation and that makes decision making difficult.

Sometimes I ask if people want a break.  Sometimes I suggest that one person or another go out for some fresh air.

That break sometimes gives people the time/opportunity to reflect on the experiences they had that led up to the moment and to think about what to do next.

On the other hand, a break might not be such a good idea if there is a risk that someone will leave and not return.  I have had that fear too, although it hasn’t happened in my experience (yet).

In any event, I will enjoy the refreshment from the pause I will take from work for the next several days.

I will write again after I return.

See ya.

-David

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

